Skip to content

SCRAM!

03/07/2011

Saturday’s Run: Unkown mileage. Time: 58 minutes

I went for a run with the SIL on Saturday and forgot to take my trusty Garmin. AKA Johnson. Super annoying. I’m sure we didn’t do our whole 8 miles because we had to stop early thanks to my shin splints. Shin splints = the suck.

Side note: Any tips on getting rid of shin splints? As long as your tip is not “rest” I’m willing to listen. I haven’t tried looking up suggestions on the google machine yet. but google is like Ken Jennings form jeopardy. it knows everything.

After our run we met up with our husbands at the gym. While they played racquetball we did some elliptical, weights, and backwards sit ups. I don’t even know how to begin to describe the backward sit up machine, but I’ll try. You know what? No i won’t. It’s too dang difficult. And really, the sit ups aren’t backwards because you’re still curling forward, but you’re facing the ground. It’s from the Twilight Zone.

At home that afternoon I made a turkey wrap for lunch with a side of pickled okra. This brings me to my love of all things dairy (not to diminish my love of pickled okra). cheese, sour cream, more cheese, and lots of sour cream. If ranch dressing is dairy, throw that in there too. My salads are never healthy because it’s a little bit of romaine lettuce, lots and lots of cheese, and even more ranch. It’s more like salad soup. gross. but oh so good. Look, i live in Texas via Oklahoma. Ranch is like a good merlot down here. We love ranch like most love wine. Don’t get me wrong, i love my wine too because obviously i’m really refined a drunk.

Take a look at my chipotle bowl:

Even though the picture is sideways and small you can see just how unhealthy it is. Rice, chicken, hot salsa, lots o’ sour cream, lots o’ cheese, and lettuce. Oh yea… and beans. Life just wouldn’t be worth living if I couldn’t have my cheese and sour cream. Baked potato = small potato, bucket o’sour cream, block o’cheese. Tacos = some chicken, bucket o’sour cream, block o’cheese. you get the idea.

I guess it’s a good thing I work out on a fairly regular basis because my diet consists of lettuce and lots of cheese/sour cream/ranch dressing. But it’s oh so good. and if i didn’t work out i’d probably look like eddie murphy in the nutty professor. only without the moustache.

Picture Credit

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jonathan permalink
    03/07/2011 12:48 pm

    don’t be so sure about the mustache…anything is possible.

  2. Sandra permalink
    03/07/2011 1:51 pm

    I LOVE my salad with lots of cheese and ranch! It is restricted from my diet but I had ranch on my salad last night! YUM! With my steak that isn’t on my diet! YUM!

    • 03/07/2011 10:26 pm

      I eat ranch on my steak! Nathan gets horribly embarrassed when i order ranch with my steak, but I love it!

Leave a Reply

