Skip to content

Ok, seriously. I ran Too hot to handle today

07/10/2011

Today I actually ran the Too Hot to Handle. Unlike yesterday, I have proof there was a race today.

Exhibit A: No Parking

Exhibit B: More than 5 runners and 2 cyclists were out there.

The race started right on time at 7:30. It was already 86* out, so it was definitely a hot one. Too Hot to Handle if you ask me. Haha really awesome and hilarious corny joke. Anyway, it was hot. I was already miserable after the first mile. I was hoping to finish in under 2 hours. Not fast, but I’ll be happy with 10-12 minutes miles in Chicago, so I’m not trying to run super retarded fast now. Anyway, the first 4.5 miles seemed to drag on forever. I felt like I had been running for 2 hours when we got to the turn around point (it was an out and back race). I carried a water bottle filled with gatorade so at every water stop I grabbed a cup of water and poured some of it over my head and some down the back of my neck. I also walked thru the water stops really, really slowly because they had misters. I took full advantage of those things. The last half of the race seemed to go buy pretty quickly. And I made some friends on the course that I used as pacers to keep me going. It was so hot out that I was questioning my ability to finish.

One thing that did annoy me besides the fact I paid $35 to run in that heat was the fact that the course mileage was off. When I crossed the 8 mile marker I looked down and my Garmin said that I had ran 8.3 miles. I asked the people around me what their Garmin’s said and their’s read the same.

Another thing that annoyed me – Gun airhorn time was 7:30. I get that it’s the “Too Hot to Handle” race, but seriously 7:30 is too late. I would have MUCH rather been out there at 6:30 for a bit cooler temperature’s.

Nathan and Ripken went out there again with me this morning. I’m a lucky gal that my husband was willing to drive me out to White Rock at 6:30 in the morning 2 mornings in a row.

All in all it wasn’t terrible, it was hot. I ended up running almost 9.6 miles (according to Garmin) in 1:57:19 (official time).

OH! And we didn’t get medals! Hello?!?! My self-worth is measured in race medals!

Additional proof I ran a race today –

I took my ponytail out and it stayed:

Do you think I look like Gonzo here?

For comparison’s sake

More proof – I took a 2 hour nap.

What did you do this weekend? Anything exciting?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/10/2011 7:32 pm

    I ran the Too Hot to Handle! It was hot! I was hating on all the bike riders today. I heard “to your left” at least 1,000,000 times! Great job!

    • 07/11/2011 5:35 pm

      Yea! I wanted to push those cyclists right off the running trail! I’m pretty sure i’m not allowed to do training runs during their races! 🙂

  2. 07/10/2011 11:38 pm

    I’m so glad you were able to do this thang… if I had gone out on Saturday morning I would have just slept in to spite the race. I mean, since it was on Sunday. That doesn’t even make sense.

    Anyway, good JOB. Cute PONY.

  3. 07/12/2011 9:40 pm

    Haha, love the perma pony, I have some pretty crazy hat head after running in the heat.

Leave a Reply

