Skip to content

I’m alive

01/03/2013

Thanks to everyone who’s emailed runyourashoff@gmail.com to check on my well-being (none of you did. assholes).

Anyway, since I’ve been blog-silent I’ve ran 2 half marathons and completed a Half Ironman. The end.

Jumping ahead 1+ years, my favorite husband registered us both for the Frankfurt Marathon in Germany on 10/27 as my Christmas present. It’s his first full and my second. It’s 4 days after our 3 year wedding anniversary, so what better way than to celebrate than by running 26.2 miles and/or a lot of kilometers. (kee-lo-meters? kill-ah-meters?). Hopefully we don’t kill each other in the process since we are both controlling and think we know much more than the other one.

It was a pretty amazing Christmas present. We woke up Christmas morning and he had me open my first present, a foam roller. Then came my second, the Marathon Stick. The 3rd box was his running shoes. He told me he’d run a marathon with me so immediately I was like “OMGLETSGETONMARATHONGUIDEANDFINDARACERIGHTNOW!” He then went to the garage to get a big trash bag for all of the wrapping paper that was about to take over the house and came back with 2 more boxes. At this time I was getting pretty pissed because all I got him was a travel coffee mug and a tshirt. My gift was looking crappier and crappier by the minute. So he hands me the first box and inside was 2 Dirk Nowitzki tshirts. In my head I was like, “Cool? I like the OKC Thunder. You know this right?” and then I opened the second box that contained our passports and flight itenerary to Germany. I still hadn’t put 2 and 2 together, so he had to tell me to look at the last piece of paper in the box, which was a screen shot of our Marathon Registration. Let me say it again, pretty amazing freaking Christmas present. Below is a re-enactment of my reaction:

abc_gma_christmas_101223_wg

(Source)

But now it’s only 1/3/13 and I’m already tired of these conversations:

“Nathan, can you take out the trash?”

“I gave you a trip to Germany and registered us both for a marathon. You do it.”

Hopefully those stop soon or I’ll have to find a new husband.

I ran a half marathon in December here in Dallas that I didn’t train for. I was sore for 3 days and wanted to die. Luckily I didn’t and I rang in 2013 by making a stupid New Years Resolution to really train for this marathon. I mean, I’m traveling to Germany for the damn thing and you finish on a red freaking carpet. Yesterday was my first day back at the gym in a few months and I had to stalk the TM’s like it was going out of style. I circled around the people that had run 3+ miles like a vulture until they got creeped out and left. I ran my 2.25 miles (hooray?) and left to go home and eat a bowl of ice cream. I’m off to a good start.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

